Shoalhaven City Council benefits from additional bushfire recovery funding

Nov 25, 2020

Joint Australian and NSW Government disaster funding is being rolled out to Shoalhaven City Council under Stream 1 of the Bushfire Community Recovery and Resilience Fund (BCRRF), which helps councils promote community well-being, social and future disaster resilience.

“This funding allows councils to invest in smaller projects that will directly benefit recovery efforts and help communities across NSW recover in their own way, and is delivered under long standing joint Australian and state funding arrangements,” Minister for Emergency Management, David Littleproud said.

“We are continuing to work closely with state governments and councils to ensure that funding is available for a range of recovery projects which are identified and delivered at the local and community level. This direct funding to councils is in addition to $25 million set aside for community led projects under Stream 2 of the BCRRF program as well as funding support provided through the National Bushfire Recovery Fund.”

Senator for New South Wales Jim Molan said “the Shoalhaven City Council will receive a $250,000 payment under BCRRF Stream 1, supporting range of great local projects.”

“This funding will be great for the Shoalhaven area, the project will support a range of local recovery and resilience projects, establishing a Bushfire Service and Information Hub, an enhanced recovery hotline and outreach, and community grants for local organisations.”

“Our local fire-affected communities have distinct sets of circumstances and recovery needs, so it’s great to see money directed at the things that matter here in the Shoalhaven,” Senator Member said.

“I am also pleased to confirm that the closing date for community applications for Stream 2 of the BCRRF has been extended. This will ensure everyone with a recovery project idea has enough time to work up their idea and get an application in.”


Applications for Stream 2 of the BCRRF program will now be accepted until 12pm on 11 December 2020 and can be submitted at