Additional Australian Government assistance for New South Wales storms and floods

Mar 29, 2021

The Australian Government has extended the Australian Government Disaster Recovery Payment (AGDRP) and Disaster Recovery Allowance (DRA) to support those significantly affected by the storms and flooding in more areas of New South Wales with over $32 million paid to flood affected residents to date.

People in the Ballina, Bathurst, Bega Valley, Brewarrina, Byron, Cabonne, Cobar, Eurobodalla, Glen Innes Severn, Gunnedah, Gwydir, Inverell, Kyogle, Lismore, Liverpool Plains, Moree Plains, Narrabri, Oberon, Richmond Valley, Shoalhaven, Singleton, Tweed, Walcha, Walgett and Wingecarribee local government areas can now access the support package.

Senator for New South Wales Jim Molan said the extension of financial assistance would help to provide dignity for those who had suffered a significant loss due to the storms and floods.

“The AGDRP is for people whose homes have been severely damaged or destroyed, who have been seriously injured or who have lost a family member and puts money straight in their pocket,” Senator Molan said.

These local government areas are in addition to the thirty four local government areas of Armidale, Bellingen, Central Coast, Cessnock City, Clarence Valley, Coffs Harbour, Dungog, Kempsey, Lake Macquarie, Maitland City, Mid-Coast, Nambucca Valley, Newcastle City, Port Macquarie-Hastings, Port Stephens and Tenterfield that were activated on Sunday, 21 March 2021.

Senator Molan said Services Australia staff have mobilised and are providing immediate on-the-ground support to people affected by the devastating floods across New South Wales.

“The Australian Government is supporting communities through this crisis, and Services Australia have surged over 5000 staff to support the current disaster response effort,” Senator Molan said.

“All three of the agency’s Mobile Service Centres have been redeployed to get services to Australians who need them.

“Golden Wattle will be staying on at the Taree Evacuation Centre, Blue Gum will be in Port Macquarie and Desert Rose is travelling from WA to provide assistance.

“Mobile Service Teams have already helped hundreds of people at local evacuation centres and staff will continue to provide assistance in the coming days.

“These teams include social workers, so staff can provide support and support service referrals as well as advice on how to claim disaster payments.”

People eligible for DRA can access income assistance for up to 13 weeks, equivalent to the maximum rate of Jobseeker Payment or Youth Allowance.

Equivalent financial assistance will also be available to eligible New Zealand citizens
(‘non-protected’ Special Category Visa, subclass 444 holders) affected by the storms and floods.

Services Australia Disaster Assistance phone lines are open from 8am to 8pm local time, seven days a week. For more information on support available, visit

More information on Australian Government disaster assistance, including a full list of local government areas where the payment has been activated is available at


More information:

  • Golden Wattle: 8:30am to 4:30pm, Club Taree carpark, Wingham Road Taree
  • Blue Gum: 9:30am to 4:30pm, near The Hub, corner Gordon & Gore Streets, Port Macquarie